Viral

Until not that long ago, ‘viral’ meant something really nasty, mostly an incurable medical state. It was a word with a shadow. In January 2003 a marketing man introduced me to the expression ‘viral marketing’ which when he explained it to me sounded really powerful. Yes, I am naïve.

Nowadays, if your YouTube video does not go ‘viral’ within half a day you are more or less finished. And, to underline what a fossil I have become, the viral videos just make me despair. With exceptions… Let me show you some which I still feel are powerful and clean. Firstly, the one from Icelandic about Palm Oil products which has been banned in the UK recently. It is about the “orangutan in my bedroom” – take a look! Clever heh? Now read how the UK has reacted – “too political” indeed, maybe helped by Unilever and their like. Good to see Greenpeace at work here too, well done all of you. It is another of those Christmas videos where John Lewis is way ahead. In 2014 they had a brilliant (viral) video about a penguin and a small boy – be prepared to shed a tear or two. Then came the parody version – every bit as brilliant with a sharp ending.

Still (for me) the video about a girl growing up (‘Dear Daddy’) a Norwegian masterpiece that still makes me cry. I have two daughters.

Finally, to Australia and a video about young people and the dangers that await them. It is called ‘Set Yourself Free’ and do not watch it after a meal!

So ‘viral’ has come a long way it seems. And thanks Veroon for the Orangutan video you sent me – see what you made me do!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment